The Emily Beale Universe - definitive

Return to the simpler reading order HERE.
Emily Beale's Universe diagram
The Emily Beale Universe reading order
Emily's "Full-on" Definitive Version
  • The Night Is Mine (Night Stalkers "NS" #1)
  • Emily's Wedding (written 5 years later)
  • I Own the Dawn (NS #2)
  • Ghost of Willow's Past (story that occurs during I Own the Dawn)
  • Kee's Wedding (written 5 years later)
  • Daniel's Christmas (NS White House "NSWH" #1)
  • Wait Until Dark (NS #3)
  • Just Shy of a Dream (written 8 years later, but fits right here)
  • Connie's Wedding (written 5 years later)
  • Frank's Independence Day (NSWH #2)
  • Peter's Christmas (NSWH #3)
  • Take Over at Midnight (NS #4)
  • Heart of the Storm (Mark and Michael's buddy origin story - though this occurs several years before The Night Is Mine, this story and the next one should be read here)
  • Beale's Hawk Down (Emily and Mark origin story)
  • Pure Heat (Firehawks "FH" #1)
  • Light Up the Night (NS #5)
  • Full Blaze (FH#2)
  • Bring On the Dusk (NS#6)
  • Hot Point (FH#3)
  • Christmas at Henderson's Ranch (HR #1)
  • Reaching Out at Henderson's Ranch (No Mark or Emily, but a key part of the series) (HR #2)
  • Target Engaged and the rest of the Delta Force quartet for Michael Gibson's continuing story (Delta Force #1-4)
  • Flash of Fire (FH#4)
  • Brief mentions in: Zachary's Christmas, Roy's Independence Day, Damien's Christmas (NSWH #4-6)
  • By Break of Day (only mentioned, but it ends the series) (NS #7)
  • Wild Fire (FH #5)
  • Nathan's Big Sky (HR#3)
  • Welcome at Henderson's Ranch (HR #4)
  • Big Sky, Loyal Heart (HR #5)
  • Delta Mission: Operation Rudolph (story with Mark-unnamed, overlaps Big Sky, Loyal Heart)
  • Finding Henderson's Ranch (just Mark) (HR #6)
  • Off the Leash, On Your Mark, In the Weeds (Dilya novels, with Emily's hand behind the scenes) (White House Protection Force #1-3)
  • Emily's Christmas Gift (HR #7)
  • Dilya's Christmas Challenge (pairs with story above)
  • Big Sky Dog Whisperer (HR#8)
  • First Day, Every Day (sequel to Ghost of Willow's Past)
  • Between Shadow and Soul (a key Michael story - with Dilya along)
  • At the Slightest Sound (Shadow Force: Psi #1 - no Mark or Emily)
  • At the Quietest Word (Shadow Force: Psi #2)
  • At the Clearest Sight (Shadow Force: Psi #3 - no Mark or Emily)
  • At the Clearest Sensation (Shadow Force: Psi #4)
  • Emily's First Flight (an origin story, but best read, as written, here)
  • Swiftwater Rescue (more Michael Gibson and a bit of Emily)
There are many more stories in the world, but they don't include Mark or Emily. You may find them on the Reading Order page. Honestly, this wasn't intentional. I blame it all on Emily's refusal to let a good story go. And now I'm getting worried about my newest action-adventure heroine Miranda Chase doing something similar. Though Miranda is a very focused gal, so maybe not.